Meet the Hilarities.

I fancied a giggle last night. So, what did I do? I watched my favourite comedies of course. Comedies which dominated my film viewing habits in my early teen years.

meet the
Meet the Parents and Meet the Fockers.

The hilarious adventures of when Greg Focker meets his in-laws. Intent of proposing to his girlfriend Pam, Greg has one hurdle to overcome before hand. His in-laws. So, the couple visit her home for the weekend to meet her family. With a strict, straight up ex CIA father in law, surely the weekend can go absolutely fine. And in the second film, with a wedding looming there is only one thing left to do. Let the in laws meet the parents. With Greg’s liberal parents huggers and kissers, surely they are going to get on with Jack fabulously, right.

If you haven’t seen these film; have you been living under a rock?!
When I first got these DVDS ( I was a little too young to go see them at the cinema when they came out) my eyes were opened to new, amazing movies. I’m pretty sure they were the films that followed my transition from kids to fabulous comedies. I knew this humour would definitely be the one that I whole heartedly fell in love with.
And this is one of the only sequels which have ever out-funnied its parent (hehe, punny). At one point I am pretty sure I watched ‘Meet the Fockers’ so much more that I actually forgot the majority of the first film. Monemts that left me in tears. Trust me, it is seriously that good.
I absolutely love all the characters, but I think it is Bernie and Ros; Greg’s parents which light up the entire second film. It is just comedy genius. The pairing was awesome, the way Hoffman and Streisand act on screen is so believe. It is hard not to love them like your own parents. They are actually awesome.
Omg, but the best part. Little Jack. Whatever genius came up with him deserves a god damn prize. His first word; has me in stitches every time. And the faces he pulls. Love it!
However, the third film I do not own on DVD. My whole family was so excited when it came out we all went to the cinema together to see it (a great family outing aha). However, we were so disappointed. It never lived up to its predecessors (although it did have very big shoes to fill) and I never had a desire to purchase it in DVD form. The funnies just were not there.
But regardless, I’m chilled out and full of funny thanks to these fabulous films.
Laughter for all!

Leave a comment